Board & Management

Board & Management

The Minister for the Department of Natural Resources & Mines is responsible for the appointment of Board Directors and their general direction, control and operations. The Government sets the policy framework, which is communicated via the Minister and State Government departments. All boards are responsible for setting a broad strategic framework, business targets and operational controls. These must comply with Government requirements and where practicable achieve best business practice. The Board must ensure that they operate within these parameters, and should seek assurance from the Board's Manager that the Board is operating in a culture of compliance, performance and making suitable progress towards achieving the Board's objectives.   Board Directors LBW is headed by a Board that will comprise of seven (7) directors, four (4) directors are elected by ratepayers, two (2) are nominated by the sugar miller and one (1) is nominated by the Burdekin Shire Council. Each director is appointed for a term of 3 years starting on the day stated in the directors instrument of appointment. Monthly Board Meetings are held on the third Thursday of every month and any ratepayers requesting representation to the Board should contact the office prior to the meeting.

Lisa Parker

Lisa is a Senior Solicitor at Ruddy Tomlins & Baxter Solicitors, Ayr. Lisa and her husband (a fourth generation Burdekin farmer) farm in the Northern Division of the authority area.  Lisa commenced her current term as a Director representative for the Northern Division in October 2019.   Contact:

Glenis Jones

  Glenis is a Northern Division LBW ratepayer representative (farming operations include groundwater and open water) and commenced her current term as a Director in October 2019.  Glenis has been actively involved in the family farming business for over 40 years - firstly with husband, Ellis, and now with son Ryan (4th generation), in both administration and 'hands on' outside.  Glenis' interests, other than family and business, is in the equestrian arena, particularly as a Dressage competitor.   Contact:


Michael Caspanello

Michael is a Southern Division LBW ratepayer representative and is the Chairman of Lower Burdekin Water. Michael served as the Deputy Chairman of the South Burdekin Water Board for 8 years until 2013, when the serving Chairman retired and Michael was elected as the Chairman. Michael has served on the Board since 2005 and is a third generation farmer in the Northern and Southern Divisions of the authority area. Contact:


Peter Larsen

Peter is a representative of Wilmar Sugar Australia Ltd and has served on the Water Board since 2013.  Peter is responsible for agriculture productivity across all Wilmar Sugar growing areas. Peter is also a Director on the Burdekin Productivity Services Board. Contact:

Neomi Butler

Neomi is a representative of Wilmar Sugar Australia Ltd (the sugar milling entity) and commenced her current term on the Board in July 2019. Neomi has a background in Accounting and is a Commercial Manager at Wilmar Sugar.  Contact:

Cr Kaylee Boccalatte

Kaylee is a representative of the Burdekin Shire Council and commenced her current term as a Director of LBW in August 2020. Kaylee and her Husband own a farm in the Northern Division of LBW’s authority area. Kaylee has a background in Economics, Business and Employment Relations and is also a current member of the Burdekin Shire Rivers Improvement Trust and Women in Sugar. Kaylee's Councillor profile is located on Burdekin Shire Council's website Contact:

Management Team

Executive Officer - David Sartori

David commenced employment with Lower Burdekin Water in June, 2012.  David completed his degree in mechanical engineering at the Queensland University of Technology and has held previous positions in project and shutdown management, reliability engineering, contract and risk management. Email: Mobile: 0408 067 705

 Technical Services Manager  - Peter Piotto

Peter commenced working with the organisation in September 2013 after a 24 year career with Sunwater. During his time with Sunwater, Peter held various positions including: Technical Officer, Maintenance and Service Delivery Co-ordinator, Service Delivery Manager and Renewals Co-ordinator. Peter brings vast experience and skills within the water sector and also has formal qualifications in Civil Engineering (USQ). Email: Mobile: 0429 030 089

Operations Manager  - Charles Papale

Charles (Charlie) started work with the South Burdekin Water Board in January, 1989 as a Water Officer. Charlie is a qualified fitter and turner, who previously worked for local engineering businesses. Charlie is also a third generation sugar cane farmer within the Southern Division. Email: Mobile: 0407 636 488

Finance Officer - Elliott Gullotta

Elliott commenced employment with Lower Burdekin Water in October, 2010 as the Finance Officer. Elliott graduated JCU in 2006 with a double degree in Accounting and Business Management. Email: Mobile: 0428 712 168

Technical Officer - Paul Godfrey

Email: Mobile: 0429 158 181

 Southern Division Operations Supervisor - Glenn Pola

Email: Mobile: 0429 821 703

Northern Division Operations Supervisor - Aaron Papale

Email: Mobile: 0407 169 962